Contact / Management

Management Team

The Assessor and Electoral Registration Officer is David C. Thomson BSc(Hons). He is a Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and heads an office which has a staff of 55. He is supported by the Depute Assessor who is responsible for the day to day management of the professional, technical, admin and clerical staff based in Clydebank and Campbeltown:

The Depute Assessor and Electoral Registration Officer is Russell Hewton BTech PGDipSurveying MIET MRICS IRRV(Hons) AEA(Cert-Scotland). The Depute supports the delivery of effective Valuation Joint Board services by developing and implementing strategic policies, providing expert advice and guidance on operational issues, and managing the performance of the Dunbartonshire and Argyll & Bute Valuation Joint Board. The Depute Assessor deputises for the Assessor and Electoral Registration Officer in terms of section 27 of the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994, section 84 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 and section 8 of the Representation of the Peoples Act 1983.

There are 3 other members of the Management Team:

Divisional Assessors:

The Divisional Assessors key purposes are to support the effective delivery of Valuation Joint Board services by leading, managing and directing the valuation sections. They ensure compliance with statutory duties and performance targets relating to the creation and maintenance of the Valuation Roll and Council Tax List within their relevant areas of operation. They also provide input and advice as members of the Management Team, and implement the actions of that Team.

Abigail Tarbert MRICS, in the Clydebank office (East and West Dunbartonshire and part of Argyll & Bute)
Fiona Gillies MRICS, in the Campbeltown office (Argyll west of Loch Long and the Isle of Bute)

Principal Administration Officer:

The Principal Administration Officer’s main roles are, to be responsible for the general direction of all administrative functions of the service and for the control of all staff engaged in it, to be a member of the Management Team with responsibility for the implementation of policies, procedures and service targets and to oversee the strategic and operational procedures associated with the compilation and maintenance of the Electoral Register, and to be fully conversant with electoral law.

Rosemary Nelson is the Principal Administration Officer and is based in our Campbeltown office

Our offices

Our offices are open for public enquiries
Monday to Thursday – 8.45am to 4.45pm
Friday – 8.45am to 3.55pm

235 Dumbarton Road,
G81 4XJ
Phone 0141 562 1200

View on Map (External Link)

Kilbrannan House,
Bolgam Street,
PA28 6JY
Phone 01586 555300

View on Map (External Link)