Membership of the Grampian Valuation Joint Board

The Grampian Valuation Joint Board was established as part of the 1996 reorganisation of local government in terms of The Valuation Joint Boards (Scotland) Order 1995 and is vested with the functions of the three valuation authorities (Aberdeen City Council, Aberdeenshire Council and Moray Council) in the area of the former Grampian Region. With the agreement of the three councils the Board also has responsibility for the Electoral Registration function. The Board comprises 15 members who are appointed by the three councils with the Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire councils each nominating 6 members and Moray Council 3 members. The Board is responsible for the administrative side of the valuation process: ensuring that there are sufficient staff/offices to fulfill the valuation function monitoring accounts, performance, audit and complaint matters. The Board and its members cannot however become involved in valuation decisions made by the Assessor. The Assessor has an independent professional valuation role which is required by the courts to be free of political influence or interference. Similar provisions apply to ensure that registration decisions made by the Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) are also the responsibility of the ERO and not the Board.