About the SAA

The SAA is the Scottish Assessors Association and all Assessors and their senior staff are members of the SAA.

The Scottish Assessors Association (SAA) was instituted in 1975 at the time of local government reorganisation and is the successor body to the Association of Lands Valuation Assessors of Scotland (1957) and earlier bodies extending back to The Association of Lands Valuation Assessors (1886). The SAA continued in being after the 1996 reorganisation of Scottish local government and operates in terms of a formal Constitution.

Although a voluntary organisation, all Assessors and their senior staff are members of the Association. One of the principal functions of the Association is to facilitate a consistency of approach in the administration of the valuation, council tax and electoral registration services. The policies and decisions of the Association have a bearing on how individual Assessors carry out their statutory duties, but each Assessor is an independent official. Nevertheless Assessors believe it is in the public interest to make SAA valuation “Practice Notes” available on this site.

The Association works through a series of Committees and associated Working Parties, which meet in advance of quarterly plenary sessions which are attended by representatives from all Assessors’ offices. The SAA also liaises with the Valuation Office Agency (VOA) in England and Wales, the Land and Property Service in Northern Ireland (LPSNI) and the Republic of Ireland Valuation Office (Oifig Luachála) in matters of common interest.

The constitution is available here – SAA Constitution

The office holders, who are appointed in terms of the constitution and normally hold office for a period of 2 years, are –

Heather Honeyman BSc (Hons) MBA MRICS
[email protected]

Vice President
Robert Nicol BA BSc, MRICS, AEA (Cert – Scotland)
[email protected]

Brian Rout MRICS AEA (Cert- Scotland)
[email protected]

Assessor Member
William McFarlane BSc MRICS IRRV (Hons)
[email protected]